Andy Tipsana is the 2016 Singles & Handicap Champion of Poole League

Last Wednesday the Poole Pairs League at the Dorset Table TennisIMG_0377

Centre finished with its Individual Championships by staging the

Singles Competition. But before that, first the evening started with

the Handicap Final between Andy Tipsana, who had a handicap of 5,

and Jon Ferguson, who had a handicap of 0. Andy proved too strong

for Jon by beating him in two straight sets and therefore Andy is the

new Poole League Handicap Champion.

Twenty-four people turned up for the Poole League Singles Championship. They were divided into six groups of four. Group 1 consisted of Stuart Burton, Joe Sparks, Ron Danville & James Hamilton. This group was won by Stuart Burton and runner-up was Ron Danville. Group 2 was made up of Micky Pritchard, Michal Medrek, Mieszko Biela & Arthur Lomax. Arthur Lomax won this group and Michal Medrek came second.

Group 3 included Ian Tipsana, Max Bannon, Dean Wedderburn & Adam Hamilton. The group winner was Ian Tipsana and followed by Dean Wedderburn in second place. Group 4 consisted of Harvet Stanton, Andy Tipsana, Jon Ferguson & Pete White. In this group Andy Tipsana came top and Jon Ferguson came second.

Group 5 was made up of Jake Warry, Ricky Ballard, Aidan Blay & Grant Dimond. The group was won by Grant Dimond and second was Ricky Ballard. Group 6 included Jamie Menzel, Owen White, Jamie Saunders & Danny Blay. Jamie Saunders won this group and Owen White came second.

In the next round Jamie Saunders beat Ricky Ballard, Jon Ferguson beat Ian Tipsana, Grant Dimond beat Owen White and Andy Tipsana beat Dean Wedderburn. In the quarterfinal Andy Tipsana beat Jamie Saunders, Stuart Burton beat Michal Medrek, Arthur Lomax beat Ron Danville and Jon Ferguson beat Grant Dimond.

This meant that the semi-final took place between Andy Tipsana against Stuart Burton and Arthur Lomax against Jon Ferguson. The eventual winners were Andy Tipsana and Jon Ferguson which meant that the Singles saw the same two players playing each other also in the Singles Final. Again, as in the Handicap Final Andy was too strong for Jon and therefore was crowned the Poole League Singles Champion of 2016.

The following players made it into the consolation round: Jamie Menzel, Aidan Blay, Pete White, Adam Hamilton, James Hamilton, Mieszko Biela, Micky Pritchard, Joe Sparks, Max Bannon, Harvey Stanton, Jake Warry & Danny Blay. In the final Pete White had to play Jake Warry, in which Pete came on top and therefore he is the winner of the Handicap Consolation Round.

Next Wednesday 18 May the Dorset Table Tennis Centre starts with the Team Handicap competition which is going to run until the summer holidays.

See you Wednesday